Skip to content
vettly.

carVertical, Total Car Check or Autotrader: which to use?

What each provider's own website says about its price, what the check covers and any data guarantee, with vCheck and our own full check alongside. Where a site does not say, we say so.

Every fact checked on the provider's own site on 26 October 2026.

At a glance

The price of one check on one car, the packs each site lists and the data guarantee it states.

ProviderOne checkPacksData guarantee
carVerticalVehicle history report£39.992 reports for £51.98 (£25.99 each), 3 for £62.97 (£20.99 each)Not stated (it offers a report return guarantee)
Total Car CheckGold Check£9.993 for £14.99, 5 for £19.99£30,000
AutotraderVehicle Check£6.95Not statedUp to £30,000
vCheckFull CheckNot stated as a single priceFrom £6.00 a check: 3 for £24, 5 for £35, 10 for £60£40,000
VettlyFull history check£7.993 for £19.99, 10 for £59.99Up to £10,000, Experian's, for 12 months, as a £1.99 add-on

What each check says it covers

The three records that cost buyers the most, as each provider describes the check priced above, and anything else it lists.

ProviderOutstanding financeWrite-offsStolenAlso listed
carVerticalNot stated for UK finance agreements. Its site lists loans, debts and legal disputes tied to a vehicleDamage and write-offsYesMileage, a timeline of events and a market value, from more than 1,000 sources in many countries
Total Car CheckYesYesYesA cheaper Silver check (£3.99), whose feature list does not mention outstanding finance
AutotraderYesYesYes, with scrapped markersMileage history, imports and exports, colour changes and previous owners
vCheckYesYesYesA mileage check, plus cheaper Basic and Initial checks that also list finance, write-off and stolen checks
VettlyYesYesYesA scrapped marker, keepers, plate and colour changes, imports and exports, the VIN, mileage from every recorded source, a valuation, the specification and electric car details, plus a free check first

A fair comparison

Which may suit you better

No single check is right for everyone. This is where each one stands out, from what its own site says.

carVertical

£39.99

Vehicle history report · Data guarantee: not stated (it offers a report return guarantee)

May suit you better if: the car has spent part of its life abroad, as carVertical says it draws on more than 1,000 sources in many countries. Its site does not say whether a UK report includes UK finance agreements, so ask before you rely on it for finance.

Total Car Check

£9.99

Gold Check · Data guarantee: £30,000

May suit you better if: you want a £30,000 data guarantee for £9.99, or you are checking several cars: it lists 5 Gold checks for £19.99.

Autotrader

£6.95

Vehicle Check · Data guarantee: up to £30,000

May suit you better if: you want a data guarantee of up to £30,000 from a name you know, for £6.95.

vCheck

Not stated as a single price

Full Check · Data guarantee: £40,000

May suit you better if: you are checking many cars and want the largest data guarantee on this page, £40,000. Its bundles page gives the Full Check only as from £6.00, the price per check in a pack of 10.

Vettly

£7.99

Full history check · Data guarantee: up to £10,000, Experian's, for 12 months, as a £1.99 add-on

May suit you better if: you want more than the records: a valuation and the specification where available, details for electric cars, mileage from every recorded source and a Vettly Score, after a free check that lets you rule cars out first. Experian's data guarantee of up to £10,000 is a £1.99 add-on.

Questions to ask any provider

  • Does the check I am buying include outstanding finance, or only a cheaper tier without it?
  • Is there a data guarantee, how much is it, and what do I have to do to claim?
  • Does it cover motorbikes and vans as well as cars?
  • What happens if there is no record for the registration?

Every provider's single-check price is side by side in our price comparison, and a Vettly report is shown in full in the sample report.

Questions

carVertical, Total Car Check and Autotrader, answered

Is carVertical or Total Car Check better?
They are built differently. carVertical says it draws on more than 1,000 sources in many countries, which can help with a car that has lived abroad, at £39.99 for one report. Its site does not say whether a UK report includes UK finance agreements, so ask before you rely on it for finance. Total Car Check's Gold Check lists the three records that matter most, outstanding finance, write-offs and theft, with a £30,000 guarantee, for £9.99.
Does the Total Car Check Silver check include finance?
Its feature list does not mention outstanding finance. The Gold Check, at £9.99, does, so buy the Gold if finance matters to you.
Does the Autotrader vehicle check include outstanding finance?
Yes. Autotrader's own page lists outstanding finance, stolen and scrapped markers, write-offs and mileage, among other things, for £6.95 with a data guarantee of up to £30,000.
What is vCheck?
Another UK vehicle history check. Its bundles page lists a Full Check from £6.00 a check in a pack of 10, covering outstanding finance, insurance write-offs and the police stolen check, with a £40,000 data guarantee.
Which check has the biggest data guarantee?
Of the checks on this page, vCheck lists £40,000, and Total Car Check's Gold Check and Autotrader list up to £30,000. Vettly offers Experian's data guarantee, up to £10,000, as a £1.99 add-on to a full check.
Why choose Vettly if some checks cost less?
We are not the lowest price, and we say so: Autotrader, CarCostCheck and TowMyCar list a lower single price in our price comparison. What the £7.99 pays for is a report that adds a valuation, the specification, electric car details and mileage from every recorded source to the finance, write-off and theft records, after a free check that lets you rule cars out first.

Sources, checked on 26 October 2026: carVertical, Total Car Check, Autotrader, vCheck. Prices and terms change, so check each site before you buy.

carVertical, Total Car Check, Autotrader and vCheck belong to their owners. Names are used only to identify each provider, and Vettly is independent and not connected with, or endorsed by, any of them.